Reviews for Old Raven House from carehome.co.uk

08 Dec 2017 by Ron H (Husband of Resident/Service User)

Looking after dementia suffering residents is never going to be easy as each resident is very much an individual with their own very personal problems. To achieve this it is crucial that the staff have both the necessary training and the relevant compassion. The staff at the Old Raven have this which in my opinion is down to the leadership of the Manager and the management skills of the senior team who lead by example. I have slightly marked down the safety and security as they have only one access which is used by both vehicles and pedestrians. The expensive high tech solution would be to get every resident to wear a microchip necklace which alarmed when crossing the gate threshold.

Review relates to December 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Old Raven House? Extremely Likely


08 Dec 2017 by Denise W (Granddaughter of Resident/Service User)

This is a place where I know my Nan feels at home and where I can see she can be herself. I can also see that she is celebrated for her humour and occasional ‘interesting’ choice of language too! Since living at The Old Raven, Nan looks healthier than she has in years, mainly because she now has great food and people who genuinely care about her and all the residents. Every time I visit, I see tonnes of patience and understanding - consistently and from all staff. To us, that is priceless.

Review relates to December 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Old Raven House? Extremely Likely


22 May 2017 by Cath (Daughter of Resident/Service User)

Dad has been living at Old Raven House since 2016 and staff have consistently provided high levels of care. The manager and her staff are extremely well organised and dad is treated with dignity and respect at all times. He has formed close trusting relationships with staff and it's comforting to see how well his individual needs are continually being met.

Review relates to April 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Old Raven House? Extremely Likely


27 Apr 2017 by Karen (Daughter of Resident/Service User)

The staff here really care about the residents. My mum's key support worker looks after Mum as if she was her own mother. Nothing is too much for the staff, day and night they are there to support the residents and their families. As a family, we love to visit and are made very welcome.

Review relates to April 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Old Raven House? Extremely Likely


18 Apr 2017 by Yvonne F (Daughter of Resident/Service User)

Old Raven House is a caring and friendly environment for its residents and its staff are characterised by their kind, compassionate and positive attitude towards residents and their families and friends. No question or suggestion goes unanswered and their quest to do the best for individual people in their care is second to none. Family meetings and individual care plan reviews have left us with reassurance about the depth of understanding about Mum and their quest to improve life for her and others. Old Raven go the extra mile to entertain the residents. Their programme of activities went far beyond others when I searched for a place. The Facebook page is an absolute favourite with our extended family who are cheered by seeing her enjoying herself. The menagerie of animals is a particular favourite with Mum. Their encouragement for her to have a budgie in her room has proved to be a fantastic success. Thank you to the manager and your staff for the piece of mind brought by your care.

Review relates to April 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Old Raven House? Extremely Likely